44th Annual Nut Race, M.U. Reactor, Saturday, February 16, 2019

Joe Duncan, the founder and first president of the Columbia Track Club, has an excellent historical mind that he employed to write the following about the Nut Race: "The first one was a 3-miler on March 25, 1976. The next year it became a 5k. and in 1978 it was sponsored by the Mound City Shelled Nut Co. In 1979 (March 20) it was called the 'Nut Race' for the first time. It has been on the same Reactor Park course the entire time."

Given the import of this year being the 44th annual running of the race, the Mother Nature decided to throw the bad weather book at us with 8F temps and snow covering the entire road surface of the course. In fact, the Providence Road section of the course was down to one and a half lanes with the shoulder of the road under 5 inches on unplowed snow. Rather than put the runners at risk, I decided to alter the course by having the runners start at the usual spot atop the hill, but stay straight after turning left at Old Hwy. 63, turn left again at the finish line, run up to the course, turn right back up the hill to the start and make a U-turn. Two more such loops and they were on the last leg back to the finish line. If anything, this might have cost the runners a few seconds with the sharp U-turns, but the hill factor was the same as the official course.

In any case, we had 7 runners, which might be a record low number. Dan Edidin won the race and Beth Kelly was the first female finisher. Everyone won nut awards for top three places in age groups by sex, 19 & under, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, and 70+. The award places are listed in parentheses after the times.

1.	Dan Edidin	M50	Columbia, MO	19:57	(1)
2.	Andy Emerson	M50	Columbia, MO	22:57	(2)
3.	Beth Kelly	F31	Columbia, MO	24:45	(1)
4.	John Korte	M45	Columbia, MO	25:27	(1)
5.	Kurt Kennett	M51	Columbia, MO	27:12	(3)
6.	Adrianne Frech	F37	Columbia, MO	28:50	(2)
7.	Nasser Yazdani	M31	Columbia, MO	28:50	(1)

A very special thanks to Anne Hessler for procuring the awards and scoring the race and to Tom Allen for timing the runners.

Dick Hessler Race Director