Stephanie Butler

Stephanie Butler

Personal Records

5k32:04Columbia First Night 2009
marathon5:52:03HOA 2009

What is your age and birthdate: I was born on June 14th, 1973. I am 36 years old.

How long have you been running? I just started running consistently last year. My passion is racewalking but I am having trouble finding events for it. I like to run also and would like to run with a group.

What do you enjoy most about running? I love the way it makes me feel. I feel like I have achieved a great thing!! I hope to never stop.

How many miles do you run a week? I run and racewalk about 50-70 miles weekly. I split up the times in the morning and evening.

What is your favorite run during the week? I love to go for a run in the early mornings before the sun comes up. I love to run when it is still dark. I find myself absorbing everything. I meditate and it helps with the impending day.

Where do you run? I started running on a treadmill but got tired of the same old thing. I mostly run all over town!! I don't have a specific route.

What are your accomplishments? I finished the HOA marathon 3 weeks ago! I was so proud of myself. I was not looking to make a good time but only to finish. I finished in 5:52. When I got to the finish line and they gave me a finishers medal and announced my name I cried. That was so much fun!! I can't believe I did it!!

What are your goals? My main goal is to be active for the rest of my life. I also want to join into more runs. I would love to improve my running style and run with a group that suppports each other.

What kind of life do you have besides running? I am a single mother of 2 boys. I also work outside of my home as a nurse. I specialize in homecare. I am looking into going back to college at Linn tech to become a physical therapy technician. I love my job! It gives me great purpose in my life. I also love my children and I find that running helps me to keep up with them. Their ages are 4 and 13.